Photo of the Kairos Service Award for the nextGEN Listserv

The nextGEN Start-Up Team released the following statement on June 23, 2019:

As some of you may know, we, the nextGEN Startup Team, were honored at the 35th annual Computers and Writing Conference hosted by Michigan State University. As a team, we were awarded the 2019 Kairos Service Award, which is given to an individual or organization “whose work includes activities that promote excellent computers and writing pedagogy, theory, and community building.” Two wonderful members of the startup team, Kyle Larson and Dr. Lucy Johnson, were on hand to accept the award from Dr. Cheryl Ball and Dr. Doug Eyman, Editors of Kairos: A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology, and Pedagogy. We are honored to be in the company of Cara Messina, Northeastern University (winner of the Kairos Teaching Award) and Dr. Les Hutchinson, Boise State University (winner of the Kairos Research Award). Cara and Les are truly amazing people, teachers, scholars, and nextGENers. Their awards are incredibly well-deserved. 

We love that the award is in recognition of the collective of the nextGEN Listserv–not solely the startup team or the moderators. This award recognizes the nextGEN community–our community, our movement–which has emerged over the last year as a space for and by graduate students in Rhetoric and Composition from around the globe. We, as a community, continue to stand in opposition of the type of oppressive practices that occur seemingly daily in academia and beyond. But importantly, we continue to grow as a network of care and support for graduate students, with 545 subscribing members as of June 23, 2019.

We would also like to acknowledge the dedication of all the members who use their energy, support, love, and time to develop this space as a model for the field of what academic collegiality could and should be–with community and justice at the center. We highly regard each of your contributions (including those who are silent readers and listeners), recognize your presence for giving shape to this movement, and dedicate this Service Award to each one of you in this listserv.

The nextGEN community is truly the next generation of scholars, and we as a community will continue to fight and care for future generations of rhetoricians around the world to come. We are strongest together, and, if this award means anything, it signals that together we move forward.

Honored & Humbled,

nextGEN Startup Team -- Kyle, Lucy, Ashanka, Gavin, Virginia, Sara, Khirsten, Lou, Sweta, DBLAC, and Estee.